Grinning from Ear to Ear: A Former Intern Celebrates Tandana’s 10th Anniversary

Aaron
Aaron

By Aaron DiMartino

I found The Tandana Foundation, or should I say that The Tandana Foundation found me in the summer of 2012. I had just returned stateside from a stint with the Peace Corps and I was still bursting with youthful idealism. I wanted to go back to Ecuador. I hadn’t done enough. I hadn’t given enough of myself to feel worthy and to feel like I had made a difference in the world.

A co-worker insisted that I meet Anna Taft and a friendship was born, just like the friendships that The Tandana Foundation creates in the Indigenous communities where it spends its time. We arranged that I would intern for the fall round of programs and shortly thereafter I was thrust into a world that I did not know. Was it work? Yes. Was it hard work? Yes. Was it fun? Yes. Was it rewarding? It was incredibly rewarding.

I was asked recently at a workshop to reminisce on a time that I set out to do something and achieved success. I explained the following story that still brings a smile to my face every time I tell it. Imagine a man, an elderly man who has trouble hearing and who has worked in a field the majority of his life. He’s sitting in a chair designed for a school aged child, has a gown around him, and he’s quietly wincing in pain as I slowly and carefully clean his ear with a waterpik. Now, ten minutes later, imagine a look of surprise and a smile on his face when he exclaims that he can now hear out of that ear again after not being able to for the previous 15 years. He leaves me with a polite nod, puts his traditional hat back on his head and starts his long walk back to his home. Don’t ask what I took out of his ear–you won’t be glad you did.

It’s the little moments of success that when added together make up more than the sum of its parts.  It was the opportunity to do something for someone and not expect anything in return.  It was the chance to feel like I made a difference in someone’s life, even if ever so briefly, for a person whom I may never see again.  It was The Tandana Foundation’s commitment to these people and to their way of life that allowed me to have that opportunity, an opportunity that I am forever grateful for.

I would like to congratulate the Tandana Foundation on ten years of doing what needs to be done, for leading by example, and for making a difference in the world. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Aaron and other Tandana staff members
Aaron and other Tandana staff members

Por  Aaron DiMartino

Yo encontré a La Fundación Tandana, o debería decir que La Fundación Tandana me encontró a mí en el verano de 2012. Yo acababa de regresar a los Estados Unidos después de una experiencia con Cuerpo de Paz, todavía reventando con idealismo juvenil. Yo quería regresar a Ecuador. Yo no había hecho lo suficiente. Yo no había dado lo suficiente de mí mismo para sentirme una persona digna y para sentir que había hecho una diferencia en el mundo.

Un compañero de trabajo me insistió para que conociera a Anna Taft y una amistad nació, igual que la amistad que la Fundación Tandana crea en las comunidades Indígenas donde la fundación está presente. Planeamos que yo haría una pasantía en los programas del otoño y corto tiempo después yo estaba inmerso en un mundo desconocido. Era trabajo? Sí. Era trabajo duro? Sí. Era divertido? Sí. Era gratificante? Era increíblemente gratificante.

Recientemente me preguntaron en un taller que recordara un momento en que me propuse a hacer algo y lo logré. Yo conté la siguiente historia que todavía me produce una sonrisa cada vez que la cuento. Imagina a un hombre, un hombre mayor que tiene problemas de audición y que ha trabajado en el campo la mayor parte de su vida. El está sentado en una silla diseñada para un niño de edad escolar, tiene puesto un delantal impermeable y que está en silencio haciendo una mueca de dolor mientras despacio y con cuidado limpio su oreja con un inyector de agua. Diez minutos más tarde, imagina su mirada de sorpresa y una sonrisa en su cara cuando exclama que ahora puede escuchar por ese oído de nuevo después de no poder hacerlo por 15 años. El se despide con un gesto amable, se pone su sombrero tradicional en la cabeza y comienza su largo camino de regreso a su casa. No me preguntes qué le saqué de la oreja, porque no querrías saber lo.

Son los pequeños logros que juntos representan más que la suma de sus partes. Era la oportunidad de hacer algo por alguien y no esperar nada a cambio. Era la oportunidad de sentir que había hecho una diferencia en la vida de alguien, aunque sea muy breve, incluso para una persona que quizás nunca vuelva a ver de nuevo. Fue el compromiso de La Fundación Tandana con estas personas y con su forma de vida lo que me permitió tener esta oportunidad, una oportunidad por la que estoy eternamente agradecido.

Me gustaría felicitar a la Fundación Tandana por diez años de hacer lo que se necesita, por liderar con base en el ejemplo, y por hacer una diferencia en el mundo. Grac ias desde el fondo de mi corazón.

Aaron6
Aaron and his host family –the Fuerez Andrango family

Par Aaron DiMartino

J’ai trouvé la Fondation Tandana ou devrais-je dire plutôt c ‘est elle qui m’a trouvé en 2012 en été. Je venais tout juste de rentrer des Etats-Unis, après avoir passé un certain temps avec le programme de bénévolat Peace Corp et j’étais alors rempli d’idéalisme juvénile. Je souhaitais retourner en Équateur. Je n’en avais pas fait assez. Je n’avais pas assez donné de moi-même pour me sentir utile et me dire que j’avais changé quelque chose dans ce monde.  

Un collègue avait insisté pour que je rencontre Anna Taft. Une amitié s’était alors créée tout comme l’amitié qu’avait créée la Fondation Tandana avec les communautés indigènes. Nous avions décidé que je serais stagiaire pour le programme d’automne mais peu de temps après je fus entraîné dans un monde que je ne connaissais pas. Était-ce du travail ? Oui. Était-ce difficile? Oui. Était-ce drôle ? Oui. Était-ce enrichissant ? C’était incroyablement enrichissant.

On m’avait récemment demandé, lors d’une réunion, de revenir sur un moment j’avais entrepris quelque chose et réussi. J’ai alors raconté cette histoire qui, aujourd’hui encore me fait sourire lorsque j’en fais le récit. Imaginez un homme, un vieil homme qui a des problèmes d’audition et qui a passé la plus grande partie de sa vie à travailler dans un champs. Il est assis dans une chaise pour enfant, vêtu d’une blouse grimaçant de douleur pendant que je lui nettoie très doucement et très prudemment son oreille à l’aide d’un petit irrigateur. Imaginez dix minutes plus tard sa surprise et son sourire quand il s’exclame qu’il peut enfin entendre de cette oreille après quinze ans de surdité! Il partit en me faisant un signe de la tête pour me remercier, remis son traditionnel chapeau et entama sa longue marche pour rentrer chez lui. Ne me demandez pas ce que j’ai retiré de son oreille, vous le regretteriez.

Ce sont ces petites réussites qui, additionnées montrent que l’ensemble vaut bien plus que la somme de résultats individuels. C’était l’opportunité de faire quelque chose pour quelqu’un sans rien attendre en retour. Le sentiment d’avoir fait une différence dans la vie de quelqu’un même très brièvement même en sachant que je ne le reverrai probablement jamais. C’est l’engagement de la Fondation Tandana auprès de ces personnes et de leurs manières de vivre qui m’a offert cette opportunité dont je suis à jamais reconnaissant.

J’aimerais remercier la Fondation Tandana pour faire depuis dix ans déjà ce qui doit être fait ; pour être au premier plan par exemple et faire une différence dans ce monde. Merci du fond du cœur.

Aaron with school kids from the community of Quichinche who he worked with on a gardening project
Aaron with school kids from the community of Quichinche who he worked with on a gardening project

 

One thought on “Grinning from Ear to Ear: A Former Intern Celebrates Tandana’s 10th Anniversary”

  1. I’ve always believed in your ability to be a champion. Now I know for sure that i was right all along. You are a true champion and I am so lucky that you are my nephew. Well done Aaron, well done. love, Aunt Judy

Leave a Reply

Discover more from The Tandana Foundation Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Discover more from The Tandana Foundation Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading