In Retrospect

Thanks to Lizzie Falconer for this wonderful reflection after re-entering life in the U.S.

Lizzie Falconer

One of my opening slides One of my opening slides

Every day, I stand in front of two hundred high school students and ask them this question: What will your story be? I pose this question as part of my job. As a cultural presenter, my job is to drum up excitement in traveling by telling Spanish classes about my experiences.I lead the students  step-by-step through my life in Ecuador. It’s a simplified version-how could you fit nine months into 50 minutes?- but I try to keep the spirit alive. Every day, six times a day I show pictures of my siblings: Monica, Veronica, Jhonny, Nataly, Mateo and Francis. But Aurora is the real star of the show. Like this blog, and like my life, Aurora took center stage without me noticing.

Aurora and Francis. September 2012 Aurora and Francis. September 2012

I start with this question because I know my audience. High school students are very interested in themselves…

View original post 723 more words

Leave a Reply

